Thursday, August 22, 2019 Last Updated 16 Min 41 Sec ago Malayalam Edition
Todays E paper
Ads by Google
Thursday 13 Dec 2018 03.12 PM

KCR sworn-in, returns as Telangana CM for second straight term

KCR, Telengana cm, TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao

Hyderabad : TRS president K Chandrasekhar Rao, who led his party to a massive victory in the December 7 assembly elections, was sworn-in Thursday as the chief minister of Telangana for a second straight term

KCR, as Rao is popularly known, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor E S L Narasimhan at a simple ceremony on the lawns of Raj Bhavan here

Along with Rao, party MLC Mohammed Mehmood Ali, who was deputy chief minister in the previous TRS government, took oath as a minister

Rao was unanimously elected leader of the TRS Legislature Party by the newly-elected MLAs Wednesday

In the December 7 elections, the TRS won 88 seats in the 119-member assembly, trouncing the Congress-led 'Praja Kutami', which ended up with a tally of 21

The BJP won just one seat in the state. PTI

Ads by Google
Ads by Google
Ads by Google