Wednesday, March 06, 2019 Last Updated 19 Min 26 Sec ago Malayalam Edition
Todays E paper
Ads by Google
Tuesday 15 May 2018 10.45 AM

K'taka polls: BJP leads in 111, Congress in 66 seats

Karnataka Polls, BJP,

Bengaluru : Surging ahead of the ruling Congress in Karnataka, BJP was today leading in 111 Assembly seats two hours into the counting, while its main rival Congress in 66 constituencies, officials said. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah was trailing in both Badami and Chamundeshwari constituencies by over 300 and 11,000 votes respectively. Another key player JD(S) of former prime minister H D Deve Gowda was maintaining its hold in the old Mysuru region, and its candidates were leading in 36 seats.JD(S) ally BSP was ahead in one seat and others in

BJP's chief ministerial candidate, B S Yeddyurappa, was ahead in Shikaripura by a margin of over 9,800 votes, while JD(S) state president H D Kumaraswamy was leading in both Ramanagara and Channapatna. Prominent among those trailing include ministers Ramamnatha Rai (Bantwal), H C Mahadevappa (T Narasipura), Santosh Lad (Kalagatagi) and Vinay Kulkarni (Dharwad). Senior BJP leader K S Eshwarappa from Shivamogga,state minister Kagodu Timmappa from Sagara, and the chief minister's son, Yatindra, from Varuna were leading over their rivals.

Others were leading in two seats. Polling was held for 222 of the 224 Assembly seats on May 12.

Ads by Google